Wincanton celebrates talent at driver of the year event - Institute of Supply Chain Management
Tel: 0800 1422 522
 Back to list

Wincanton celebrates talent at driver of the year event

  • General News
  • 23rd October 2018

Wincanton Driver of the Year

After an exciting day of competition at the world famous Silverstone Circuit, Wincanton, the largest British logistics company, has announced the winners in the Large Goods Vehicles (LGV), Mechanical Handling Equipment (MHE) and Newcomer categories, at its Driver of the Year 2018 event.

The Driver of the Year event is an annual competition run by Wincanton to honour the company’s very best driving talent. With thousands of drivers working in different areas across the business, they are the core of Wincanton’s operations. The 15th edition of the Driver of the Year awards came at a key time for the logistics industry, with the need to produce the next generation of talented drivers increasing.

This year, the winners (by category) are:

  • LGV Driver of the Year – Gordon Dunlevy
  • MHE Driver of the Year – John Anderton
  • Newcomer prize – Martin Booth

Adrian Colman, CEO of Wincanton, said:

“Our great drivers are a key factor in Wincanton’s continued success. It’s important to recognise the incredible skills they demonstrate on the road every day and showcase their talent. These awards allow us to do just that and celebrate having the best drivers in the business.

“Having such a talented workforce demonstrates the significant resource we put into training and developing every individual.”

The Driver of the Year event is the culmination of months of hard work. Competing drivers are scored on a number of areas that relate to their work performance, many of which are measured by Wincanton’s industry-leading in-cab telematics technology.

The grand final puts the top scorers in each category together for a series of driving skills and knowledge tests. At the end of this process, the overall winners receive special praise and prize money.

Wincanton Driver of the Year Award Winners

Do you want more information?    Download Our Course Brochure